Scientific Advisory Committee

The charity's Scientific Advisory Committee meets in March each year to consider the applications received for research grants funding. The Committee is completely independent of the Charity and exists to make recommendations to the Charity's Board of Trustees as to which research grant applications are most deserving of funding by the Charity. The Board of Trustees receives the recommendations of the Scientific Advisory Committee and then makes its final funding decisions based solely on the level of funding available at that time.

The committee members are chosen on the grounds of their reputation and achievement in the field of ophthalmology and related relevant fields of scientific endeavour. The members are governed by a professional code of conduct and withdraw from any discussions concerning a research grant in which they might have an interest or from which they might obtain financial benefit.

The Terms of Reference and Code of Conduct for the Science Advisory Committee can be downloaded here:

SAC - Terms of Reference - FINAL - MGD - 20150704.pdf

Code of conduct for SAC - Approved July 2014 - MGD - 20140704.pdf

The Scientific Advisory Committee currently comprises:

Professor Sobha Sivaprasad DM, FRCOphth, FRCS, University College London and Consultant at Moorfields Eye Hospital, London (Chair)

Miss Clare Bailey, MD, FRCP, FRCOphth, University of Bristol

Professor Alastair Denniston MA MRCP FRCOphth PhD, University of Birmingham

Professor Chris Inglehearn BSc PhD, University of Leeds

Dr J. Arjuna Ratnayaka, Lecturer in Vision Sciences, University of Southampton

Professor Alan Stitt, Queen's University, Belfast

Professor Marcela Votruba, PhD FRCOphth, University of Cardiff

Dr Anthony Vugler, UCL Institute of Ophthalmology

Dr Andrew Webster, University College London